Friday, 27 May 2011

CEO of Africa Felix Juice, Claudio Scotto with President Ernest Koroma(Photo Credit Umaru Fofana)
Sierra Leone is one of the wealthiest countries in the world!! Fact, that is. The wealth of Sierra Leone is obvious: the best jewelry diamonds in the world; the best grade of rutile in the world; the billions of dollars of investments pumped into Sierra Leone over the past year by mineral mining giants like African Mineral, London Mining

Uganda Prime Minister HON Amama mbabazi in BEN TV STUDIOS -London

By Joseph Kizza
PRESIDENT Yoweri Museveni on Tuesday announced his choice of Prime Minister, the out-going security minister Amama Mbabazi. Mbabazi, also the National Resistance Movement (NRM) Secretary General, becomes the tenth Premier in Uganda’s political history.

Even before Uganda achieved its independence on October 9, 1962, it had months before then acquired internal self-Government on March 1, 1962 with Benedict Kiwanuka becoming the first Premier in the new National Assembly, to earn himself a place in Uganda’s history books. However, Kiwanuka only served two months in office until April 30, 1962.

On April 30, 1962, Milton Obote of the Uganda People’s Congress (UPC) replaced Kiwanuka for the Premiership. He assumed power following an appointment by Sir Walter Courts, then Governor-General of Uganda.

Obote served as Uganda’s second Premier for four years until April 15, 1966. Between April 15 and December 18, 1980, the post of Prime Minister was abolished—an era highly dominated by the Idi Amin’s dictatorial regime.

It was not until Amin was ousted and the Obote II Government was toppled that the post was re-introduced. Otema Allimadi served as the third ever Premier from December 18, 1980 to July 27, 1985. Allimadi, the foreign minister in the Obote II Government (1979-1980) was replaced by Paul Muwanga on August 1 1, 1985. He served for only three weeks, to record the shortest time in Uganda’s Premiership history.

Muwanga was later succeeded by Abraham Waligo, whose term in office expired on January 26, 1986 when Museveni’s National Resistance Movement (NRM) seized power.

Immediately Museveni took over power, he appointed the late Dr. Samson Kisekka, Prime Minister on January 31, 1986, which post he served for five years.

When Kisekka got promoted to Vice President, George Cosmas Adyebo replaced him as Premier. Adyebo ran the office until November 18, 1994, lasting nearly four years in service.

From November 18 1994 to April 5 1999, the Prime Minister office was ran by Kintu Musoke, documenting him as Uganda’s eighth.

Kintu was succeeded by Prof. Apolo Nsibambi on April 5 1999, a position he held until recently on May 24 2011 when Mbabazi took over. Nsibambi has been the longest serving Premier in Uganda’s political past.

Unlike the Vice President position which has had a female leader, Dr. Specioza Wandera Kazibwe, all the past Prime Ministers of Uganda have been male.